The Deepest Night {Review}

The Deepest NightThe Deepest Night
Series: The Sweetest Dark #2
by Shana Abe
Published by Bantam on August 13, 2013
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley
AmazonBarnes & NobleGoodreads

**I was given a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

A rich portrait of post-Victorian England, The Deepest Nightseamlessly blends thrilling romance with riveting history and adventure—perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Lauren Kate.

It’s 1915, and sixteen-year-old Lora Jones is finishing up her first year as a charity student at Iverson, a prestigious, gothic boarding school on England’s southern coast. While she’s always felt different from everyone around her, now she finally knows why: She is a drákon, a rare, enchanted being with astonishing magical abilities.

As war hits Britain’s shores, and Lora reels from an unimaginable loss, she finds that her powers come with grave and dangerous responsibilities. At the request of Armand Louis, the darkly mysterious boy whose father owns Iverson, Lora will spend her summer at his lavish estate. To help the war effort—and to keep Lora by his side—Armand turns his home into a military hospital, where Lora will serve as a nurse. For Armand is inescapably drawn to her—bound to her by heart-deep secrets and a supernatural connection that runs thicker than blood.

Yet while Lora tries to sort out her own feelings toward Armand, fate offers an unexpected surprise. Lora discovers there is another drákon, a prisoner of war being held in Germany. And that only she, with her newly honed Gifts, will be able to rescue him.

With Armand, Lora will cross enemy lines on an incredible mission—one that could bond her to Armand forever, or irrevocably tear them apart.

Beautifully written, deeply romantic, and filled with daring adventure and magic, The Deepest Night is a mesmerizing novel of the enduring pull of destiny, and the eternal strength of love.

 


My Review:


I am so happy to be immersed into Shana Abe’s Drakon world once again. The Deepest Night is the second in The Sweetest Dark series, a young adult fantasy series following the life of Eleanore. “Lora” is an orphan with a secret life taking on what she considers her most natural form, a dragon, and talking to the stars.

I loved the first book in this series (you can find my review of The Sweetest Dark here) and never thought I could love anyone more than Jesse. Especially not anyone with Lora. Their relationship had been truly meant to be and nothing could take Jesse’s place in her life. And Lora felt this way too. In this book Lora is trying to piece together her life after Jesse, feeling both lost and alone as a Drakon and the only of her kind that has come into her power.

Of course she has Armand. They both know that Armand is a Drakon although not able even to Turn to smoke yet. But he knows Lora’s secret and is the only soul she knows who accepts her as her true self. As much as I really did not want to like Armand, he just…grows on you in this book. He is so in love with Lora and spends his days watching her. But even while he is pining after her, he still treats her like she is nothing.

Most of this book was pretty slow paced for me. You know what Lora has to do within a few chapters and the rest of the book is just waiting for her to decide that she is going to do it and how. Then abruptly, she decides she’s in and Armand has a plan that goes into action the very next day. As jarring as this transition into the action was, as soon as the plan went into action, I was hooked.

I was so happy to see where the author took this series and I cannot wait for the next book to bring the whole story home. (And hopefully there will be more Jesse *wink wink*)

4 Stars

About Shana Abe

Shana Abé was born in Texas. She spent much of her childhood living in Colorado, with a brief stint in Mexico as a foreign exchange student, and, at age seventeen, lived in Japan as a model. Throughout her childhood, Abé wrote, completing what she calls “The Silliest Romance Novel Ever” during her free time during modeling shoots. Her writing focused on romance, as those were the types of books that she most enjoyed reading. She later attended college in Los Angeles, graduating with a degree in drama.

Many of Abé’s novels have been set in the medieval time period. Abé chose the time period because of its “great sense of dichotomy….It inspires thoughts of grandeur, of courtly grace and chivalrous knights — but at the same time there’s a gritty, raw aspect to the period that just cannot be denied.”

Abé has received the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, and has been nominated six times for Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Awards, winning twice.

Connect with Shana on her WEBSITE.

About Meagan

Meagan is a Reviewing Wonderland founder and featured reviewer. Because reading books does not go far in paying the bills, Meagan is also an established certified public accountant (I know, right) and spends most of her time working or spending time with her family.
This entry was posted in Young Adult Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge